Nasarawa State House of Assembly today elected Hon Danladi Jatau (APC. Kokona West) as its new Speaker.

The House also elected Hon Mohammed Oyanki (PDP Doma North) as its new Deputy Speaker.

Mr Ibrahim Musa, the Acting Clerk of the House announced the result during the House emergency sitting today in Lafia.

Hon Suleiman Azara ( APC- Awe South) nominated Hon Jatau for the position of Speakership which was seconded by Hon Larry Ven- Bawa ( APC- Akwanga North).

Hon Jatau was elected unopposed.

Hon Solomon Yakubu Akwashiki ( SDP- Lafia Central) nominated Hon Mohammed Oyanki, PDP Doma North for the position of Deputy Speaker which was seconded by Hon Hajara Danyaro ( APC- Nasarawa Central).

Hon Oyanki was also elected unopposed

The clerk thereafter sworn in Hon Jatau and Hon Oyanki as Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

In his acceptance speech, Hon Jatau, who untill his election as Speaker, was the Deputy Majority Leader of the House thanked the Honourable Members for the confidence reposed on him.

He pledged to promote unity among members of the House and other arms of government for the overall development of the State.

The new Speaker also pledged effective synergy with the executive arms so that the people of the State would continue to feel the impact of democracy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here