The deployment of three of the commission’s national commissioners and seven Resident Electoral Commissioners in Kogi State, on Monday, was approved by the  Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Prof Mahmood Yakubu.

Alhaji Ahmed Biambo, the Head, Voter Education and Publicity Department in the Lokoja office of INEC, disclosed this to the News Agency of Nigeria.

According to Biambo, the three national commissioners includes Alhaji Mohammed Haruna, Chief Solomon Soyebi and retired AVM Ahmed Mu’azu.

According to him, the affected RECs are Ibrahim Abdullahi, Prof Riskuwa Sheu and Mr Emeka Ononamadu from Bauchi, Kano and Enugu states, respectively.

Biambo said the three RECs had arrived in Lokoja to join the state REC, Prof James Apam, preparatory to the state governorship election on November 16.

He said the remaining four RECs would arrive in the state on November 9 to join their colleagues.

They are Benue State REC, Dr Goshe Yilwatda; Lagos State REC, Mr Sam Olumeku; Rivers State REC, Mr Obo Effanga; and Gombe State REC, Umaru Ibrahim.

He also assured the people of fair elections and urge them to be peaceful during the elections, Punch reports.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here